May 24, 2024


Think Differently

Biden names technologies hubs for 32 states and Puerto Rico – Company Information

The Biden administration is designating 31 engineering hubs touching 32 states and Puerto Rico to aid spur innovation and make work in the industries that are concentrated in these areas.

President Joe Biden is set to announce the hubs on Monday at the White Household with Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo.

“I have to say, in my entire occupation in public assistance, I have never ever found as substantially interest in any initiative than this one,” Raimondo explained to reporters through a Sunday meeting call to preview the announcement. Her office received 400 apps, she said.

“No make a difference where I go or who I meet with — CEOs, governors, senators, congresspeople, university presidents — everybody wishes to notify me about their application and how excited they are,” said Raimondo.

The tech hubs are the end result of a procedure Raimondo’s section released in May to distribute a whole of $500 million in grants to metropolitan areas.

The $500 million came from a $10 billion authorization in previous year’s CHIPS and Science Act to encourage investments in new technologies this kind of as artificial intelligence, quantum computing and biotech. It’s an endeavor to broaden tech financial investment that is mainly concentrated about a handful of U.S. cities — Austin, Texas Boston New York San Francisco and Seattle — to the relaxation of the state.

The plan, formally the Regional Technology and Innovation Hub System, ties into the president’s financial argument that men and women should really be ready to uncover great work exactly where they reside and that chance must be unfold across the state, somewhat than be concentrated. The White Dwelling has sought to elevate that information and highlight Biden’s related guidelines as the Democratic president undertakes his 2024 reelection bid.

“These Tech Hubs will catalyze expense in systems significant to financial advancement, national safety, and task development, and will help communities across the country grow to be centers of innovation essential to American competitiveness,” the White Household explained Monday in an emailed statement.

The 31 tech hubs reach Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Montana, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Virginia, New Hampshire, Missouri, Kansas, Maryland, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, Minnesota, Louisiana, Idaho, Wyoming, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, New York, Nevada, Missouri, Oregon, Vermont, Ohio, Maine, Washington and Puerto Rico.